Gift Certificates


February 9th, 2013
Chef Poyan Named 2012 BC Chef of the Year
read more

October 20th, 2012
Culinary Team Canada Comes home with GOLD
read more

November 29th, 2010
Culinary Team Canada Comes Home With Gold
read more

October 10th, 2010
Miele Showroom Available for Booking
read more

September 17th, 2010
Culinary Team Canada to Compete in Luxembourg
read more


Culinary Team Canada Comes Home With Gold
Date: November 29th, 2010

Culinary Team Canada 


 The Canadian National Culinary Team represented Canada at the 2010 Expogast Culinary World Cup in Luxembourg this month. This 5 day event saw 26 countries, 53 regional teams, 10 military teams, and 16 junior youth teams from around the world competing in two events each in the international culinary arena. The first competition, also  known as the cold salon, shows innovation that must be balanced with viability when the team creates a display table of food in three different categories. Judging is based on presentation, innovation, composition and correct professional preparation. In addition, the use of indigenous products and exemplary plating are carefully scrutinized. The  second competition, also known as the hot kitchen,  has the team cooking a three course meal for 110 guests in a kitchen designed in the middle of the arena. Teams are judged by cleanliness, workmanship, organization and taste.  Four countries, 2 military and 4 junior teams competed daily in the hot kitchens making the energy in the air very electric.   Culinary team Canada was one of only 6 countries to be award double golds for their entries during this international event. They were awarded 5th overall out of 26 countries.

Press Release

The chefs of Culinary Team Canada for the 2010 World Culinary Cup in Luxembourg:

Chef Members
Brad Horen, Captain, Victoria BC
Poyan Danesh, Corporate Classics Caterers, Vancouver BC 
Peter Dewar, Nova Scotia Community College, Halifax NS  
Patrick Gayler, Inn at Laurel Point, Victoria BC
Dave Ryan, Vancouver Community College, Vancouver BC
Pastry Chef   James Holehouse, Shaw Conference Centre, Edmonton AB

Team Coaches 
Clayton Folkers, Northern Alberta Institute of Technology, Edmonton AB 
Bruno Marti, La Belle Auberge Restaurant, Ladner BC 
Fred Zimmerman, retired Chef de Cuisine, Calgary AB
Judson Simpson, House of Commons, Ottawa ON

Assistant Manager
Vinod Varshney, Northern Alberta Institute of Technology, Edmonton AB

Alternate Members
Jeffery Young, Two River Meats, Vancouver, BC
Roger Andrews, College of the North Atlantic, St. John’s NL

Support Member 
Restituto Mendoza, Pinebrook Golf and Country Club, Calgary AB



Read all news items