Gift Certificates


February 9th, 2013
Chef Poyan Named 2012 BC Chef of the Year
read more

October 20th, 2012
Culinary Team Canada Comes home with GOLD
read more

November 29th, 2010
Culinary Team Canada Comes Home With Gold
read more

October 10th, 2010
Miele Showroom Available for Booking
read more

September 17th, 2010
Culinary Team Canada to Compete in Luxembourg
read more


Culinary Team Canada to Compete in Luxembourg
Date: September 17th, 2010

The six chefs, who will represent Canada at the 2010 Expogast Culinary World
Cup in Luxembourg, met for the first time as Culinary Team Canada on March 13, 2010, in
“The challenge after tryouts was not just picking the best chefs, but picking the best chefs who
could come together as a team — a winning combination — and earn Canada another world
culinary championship,” says Business Manager Simon Smotkowicz. “Based on our first team
meeting, we’ve got that.”

The chefs of Culinary Team Canada for the 2012 World Culinary Olympics are:

Chef Members

Brad Horen, Captain, Victoria BC
Poyan Danesh, Corporate Classics Caterers, Vancouver BC 
Peter Dewar, Nova Scotia Community College, Halifax NS  
Patrick Gayler, Inn at Laurel Point, Victoria BC
Dave Ryan, Vancouver Community College, Vancouver BC
Pastry Chef   James Holehouse, Shaw Conference Centre, Edmonton AB

Team Coaches 
Clayton Folkers, Northern Alberta Institute of Technology, Edmonton AB 
Bruno Marti, La Belle Auberge Restaurant, Ladner BC 
Fred Zimmerman, retired Chef de Cuisine, Calgary AB
Judson Simpson, House of Commons, Ottawa ON

Assistant Manager
Vinod Varshney, Northern Alberta Institute of Technology, Edmonton AB

Alternate Members
Jeffery Young, Two River Meats, Vancouver, BC
Roger Andrews, College of the North Atlantic, St. John’s NL

Support Member 
Restituto Mendoza, Pinebrook Golf and Country Club, Calgary AB

Read all news items